Soccer: Australia’s Riley McGree Nominated for 2018’s Most Beautiful Goal

FIFA has revealed the ten nominees for this year’s most beautiful goal, with Australia’s Riley McGree running against Cristiano Ronaldo and Lionel Messi.

The Puskas Award is part of the The Best FIFA Football Awards™ 2018, recognising the best in men’s and women’s game.

The backheel goal from McGree, who was playing for Newcastle Jets on loan from Club Brugge in the 2018 Hyundai A-League semi-final, was nominated by a panel of seven former players including Iker Casillas and Miroslav Klose.

It has been recognised as similar to Olivier Giroud’s goal against Crystal Palace, which won last year’s Puskas Award.

The winner, which will be decided via fan polling, is set to be announced on September 24.

The full list of nominees for the Award is as follows:

The Best FIFA Men’s Player:

  • Cristiano Ronaldo (Portugal/Juventus FC, formerly Real Madrid CF)
  • Luka Modrić (Croatia/Real Madrid CF)
  • Mohamed Salah (Egypt/Liverpool FC)

The Best FIFA Women’s Player:

  • Ada Hegerberg (Norway/Olympique Lyonnais)
  • Dzsenifer Marozsán (Germany/Olympique Lyonnais)
  • Marta (Brazil/Orlando Pride)

The Best FIFA Men’s Coach:

  • Zlatko Dalić (Croatia/Croatia national team)
  • Didier Deschamps (France/France national team)
  • Zinédine Zidane (France/formerly Real Madrid CF)

The Best FIFA Women’s Coach:

  • Reynald Pedros (France/Olympique Lyonnais)
  • Asako Takakura (Japan/Japan national team)
  • Sarina Wiegman (Netherlands/Netherlands national team)

The Best FIFA Goalkeeper:

  • Thibaut Courtois (Belgium/Real Madrid CF, formerly Chelsea FC)
  • Hugo Lloris (France/Tottenham Hotspur FC)
  • Kasper Schmeichel (Denmark/Leicester City FC)

FIFA Puskás Award:

  • Gareth Bale (Real Madrid CF) – v. Liverpool FC
  • Denis Cheryshev (Russia) – v. Croatia
  • Lazaros Christodoulopoulos (AEK FC) – v. Olympiacos FC
  • Giorgian De Arrascaeta (Cruzeiro) – v. América MG
  • Riley McGree (Newcastle Jets FC) – v. Melbourne City FC
  • Lionel Messi (Argentina) – v. Nigeria
  • Benjamin Pavard (France) – v. Argentina
  • Ricardo Quaresma (Portugal) – v. IR Iran
  • Cristiano Ronaldo (Real Madrid CF) – v. Juventus FC
  • Mohamed Salah (Liverpool FC) – v. Everton FC

FIFA Fan Award:

  • Sebastián Carrera (Deportes Puerto Montt, Chile)
  • Peru fans
  • Japan and Senegal fans