Soccer: Cristiano Ronaldo Wins Best FIFA Men’s Player

Cristiano Ronaldo has received Best FIFA Men’s Player award, following Portugal’s and Real Madrid’s major European title wins in 2016.

Ronaldo won the award with 34.54 per cent of the vote, beating fellow nominees such as Lionel Messi (26.42 per cent) and Antoine Griezmann (7.53 per cent).

Source: Fox Sports

Best FIFA Football Awards was the football governing body’s first prize after it ended its association with Ballon d’Or and France Football magazine last year. The votes were collected from national team captains and managers, select journalists and, for the first time, online fans through poll.

“2016 was the best year of my career,” Ronaldo said in his acceptance speech in Portuguese. In the year, Ronaldo won the European Championship, Champions League, and Club World Cup, plus individual best player awards from UEFA and France Football magazine.

US’s Carli Lloyd won the Best Women’s Player award with 20.68 per cent vote, beating Germany’s Melanie Behringer (16.6 per cent) and Brazil’s Marta (12.34 per cent).

“I honestly was not expecting this,” the Houston Dash midfielder said. “I know Melanie did fantastic in the 2016 Olympics.”

Germany’s coach Silvia Neid won the Best Women’s Coach award, after bringing her team to win gold medal in the Olympics. Neid also won the award in 2010.

The Puskas Award for the best goal went to Penang’s Mohd Faiz Subri for his swerving kick in a Malaysia Super League match, which earned a swooping 59.46 per cent of the vote.

FIFA Award winners:

  • Best men’s player: Cristiano Ronaldo (POR/Real Madrid)
  • Best women’s player: Carli Lloyd (USA/Houston Dash)
  • Best men’s coach: Claudio Ranieri (Leicester City)
  • Best women’s coach: Silvia Neid (GER)
  • Best goal: Mohd Faiz Subri (Penang)
  • Fan award: Liverpool/Borussia Dortmund

Most Popular

Sports Apes presents you with the latest Sports Summaries, News and Events to keep you up to date with your favorite team, no matter what Country, Code or Colour.

Copyright © 2016 Sports Apes Australia

To Top

Powered by