Soccer: Cristiano Ronaldo Won Ballon d’Or Award for the Fourth Time

Cristiano Ronaldo has won the Ballon d’Or award for the fourth time, beating rival Lionel Messi.

The 31-year-old has helped his teams claim European Championship and Champions League titles this season by scoring 19 goals in 20 games for his club and country.

“The emotion is like for the first one, it’s a dream come true again. I never thought in my mind to win four times,” said Ronaldo, who also won the award in 2008, 2013 and 2014.

“I have the opportunity to thank all of my team-mates, the national team, Real Madrid, all of the people and players who helped me to win this individual award.”

The Real Madrid forward is now behind Barcelona’s Messi, who received the award for the fifth time last year.

The Ballon d’Or is voted by 173 journalists. This year, the award was handed by France Football following FIFA’s dissociation in September.

Ballon d’Or list:

1 – Cristiano Ronaldo

2 – Lionel Messi

3 – Antoine Griezmann

4 – Luis Suárez

5 – Neymar

6 – Gareth Bale

7 – Riyad Mahrez

8 – Jamie Vardy

9= – Pepe

9= – Gianluigi Buffon

11 – Pierre-Emerick Aubameyang

12 – Rui Patricio

13 – Zlatan Ibrahimovic

14= – Arturo Vidal

14= – Paul Pogba

16 – Robert Lewandowski

17= – Dimitri Payet

17= – Toni Kroos

17= – Luka Modric

Most Popular

Sports Apes presents you with the latest Sports Summaries, News and Events to keep you up to date with your favorite team, no matter what Country, Code or Colour.

Copyright © 2016 Sports Apes Australia

To Top

Powered by