Soccer: Luka Modric and Ada Hederberg Win 2018 Ballon d’Or

Real Madrid midfielder Luka Modric has won the 2018 Ballon d’Or, ending the decade-long dominance of Lionel Messi and Cristiano Ronaldo in the award.

The 33-year-old Croatian received the award after winning his third consecutive Champions League and helping bring Croatia to its first World Cup final this year. The prize was awarded by France Football and voted by 180 journalists.

“The Ballon d’Or was more than just a dream for me and it is really an honor and a privilege to hold this trophy,” said Modric.

Ronaldo, who took the top honour last year and is currently facing rape allegations, dropped to number two.  Atletico Madrid forward Antoine Griezmann came in third, followed by Kylian Mbappé who also snagged the inaugural Kopa Trophy for the best under-21 player. Barcelona star Messi finished in fifth, which many lamented as a snub.

Norway striker Ada Hegerberg won the inaugural Women’s Ballon d’Or for her excellent performance at Lyon, with whom she has won three successive Champions League titles. Australia’s Samantha Kerr finished at fifth.

Ballon d’Or 2018 list:

1 Luka Modric (Croatia, Real Madrid)

2 Cristiano Ronaldo (Portugal, Real Madrid and Juventus)

3 Antoine Griezmann (France, Atletico Madrid)

4 Kylian Mbappé (France, PSG)

5 Lionel Messi (Argentina, FC Barcelona)

6 Mohamed Salah (Egypt, Liverpool)

7 Raphael Varane (France, Real Madrid)

8 Eden Hazard (Belgium, Chelsea)

9 Kevin De Bruyne (Belgium, Manchester City)

10 Harry Keane (England, Tottenham)


Women’s Ballon d’Or 2018 list:

1 Ada Hegerberg (Norway, Lyon)

2 Pernille Harder (Denmark, Wolfsburg)

3 Dzsenifer Maroszan (Germany, Lyon)

4 Marta (Brazil, Orlando Pride)

5 Sam Kerr (Australia, Chicago Red Stars)

6 Lucy Bronze (England, Lyon)

7=Amandine Henry (France, Lyon)

7=Wendie Renard (France, Lyon)

9 Megan Rapinoe (US, Seattle Reign)

10 Lindsey Horan (US, Portland Thorns)