Tennis: Dylan Alcott Wins Highest Honour in the Australian Tennis Awards

Dylan Alcott

Source: APIA International

Dylan Alcott has been named the winner of Newcombe Medal, the highest award for Australian tennis players.

The world’s number one wheelchair player joined Sam Stosur, Lleyton Hewitt and Sam Groth on the Newcombe Medal honour roll in Melbourne on Monday night.

Dylan Alcott
Source: APIA International

This year, Alcott successfully defended his Australian Open title, won two gold medals at the Rio Paralympics, and was titled Australia’s Paralympian of the Year. Alcott also gained titles in Brisbane and Sydney as well as Japan, Britain, France and South Africa.

Nick Kyrgios, who won the Medal in 2014, was absent along with Bernard Tomic at the evening.

John Newcombe defended his decision to leave Kyrgios and Tomic out of nominations this year, saying on Monday afternoon, “It’s not just about your ability to play tennis … it’s [also] about how you’ve conducted yourself during the year.”

The award winners

  • Newcombe Medal: Dylan Alcott
  • President’s spirit of tennis award: Angie Cunningham
  • Coaching excellence (high performance): Des Tyson
  • Coaching excellence (club): Helen Magill
  • Coaching excellence (talent development): Stephen Thompson
  • Female junior thlete of the year: Kimberly Birrell
  • Male junior athlete of the year: Alex De Minaur
  • Most outstanding athlete with a disability: Dylan Alcott and Heath Davidson
  • Volunteer achievement award: Kathy Brummitt
  • Most outstanding 35+ tennis senior: Leanne Swaysland
  • Excellence in officiating: Troy Deighton
  • Most outstanding club: East Malvern Tennis Club
  • Most outstanding Australian ranking tournament: Ferntree Gully Kia MUSTA Silver AMT
  • Most outstanding professional tournament: Canberra International
  • Most outstanding school: Wembley Primary School